MPs across Stevenage, North Hertfordshire and Bedfordshire were able to vote earlier this week on the privileges committee report into Boris Johnson's behaviour.

Across Comet country, Bim Afolami and Richard Fuller voted to approve the report, while Stephen McPartland, Sir Oliver Heald and Nadine Dorries abstained.

Overall, 354 MPs voted for approving the report and seven voted against approving it.

The report, by the cross-party privileges committee, found that Johnson "deliberately misled" the House over breaches of lockdown rules at 10 Downing Street.

MPs were voting on whether to approve that report, which recommended that Mr Johnson should not be entitled to a former member's pass granting him continued access to parliament.

Explaining his decision to vote to approve the report and its recommendations, Bim Afolami, the MP for Hitchin and Harpenden, said: "Last year when I resigned from my role as vice chair of the Conservative party, I did so because integrity matters in politics - and it had become clear that Boris Johnson could not restore integrity to the office of prime minister.

"Last week, the privileges committee published its report on Boris Johnson. Having studied it in detail - and read your emails and messages in the days that followed - I have come to the conclusion that the report and its recommendations should be approved, to allow the restoration of integrity in our politics to continue."

Mr Afolami had previously supported Mr Johnson when the then-prime minister faced a confidence vote among Conservative MPs in June 2022.

Cllr Sam Collins, who was the Liberal Democrat candidate for Hitchin & Harpenden at the last general election, said: "As usual the Conservative MP for Hitchin & Harpenden simply followed the crowd of Tory MPs [118 Conservative MPs voted for the report, 225 abstained, and seven voted against].

"For once though it was the right decision, but let's not forget Afolami gave Boris Johnson his 'full support' just 12 months ago and long after it was very clear that the parties went on throughout the lockdowns."

READ MORE: North Herts pub re-opens after £180k facelift

Sir Oliver Heald, the MP for North East Hertfordshire, confirmed to us that he supports the recommendations of the committee, and explained that he "did not vote because no vote was expected, after the former prime minister instructed his supporters to abstain".

He has been criticised, however, by Cllr Alistair Willoughby, chair of North East Herts Labour party, who said: "Sir Oliver's explanation is disappointingly brief and lacks substance.

"It is well known that there was the possibility of a vote. Part of an MP's duty is to uphold truth and integrity.

"Many of his constituents have been asking why he failed to vote, but now we get an answer it is late and dismissive."

We also asked Stephen McPartland, the MP for Stevenage, why he abstained from the vote but have not received a response. Mr McPartland continually backed Mr Johnson throughout partygate and suggested last year that Stevenage residents wanted him to return to as prime minister.

Kevin Bonavia, Labour's parliamentary candidate for Stevenage, said: "It's very disappointing that our Conservative MP did note vote to sanction Boris Johnson for lying about the partygate scandal and that he even failed to explain why he didn't."

Nadine Dorries, the MP for Mid Beds has not yet resigned, after previously saying she would step down with "immediate effect".

On Thursday, June 15, she told Talk TV that Conservative MPs should vote against the report and "if they don't, I don't believe that they are true Conservatives".

However, Ms Dorries herself then abstained on the motion after Boris Johnson urged his allies to boycott the vote.