A House of Commons vote calling for a ceasefire in Gaza has caused Labour divisions and put pressure on party leader Sir Keir Starmer, but how did out MPs vote?

The vote was called after the SNP put forward a motion to amend the King's Speech and call for a ceasefire in the Israeli-Gaza conflict, which has been raging since early October.

The amendment was not approved by a majority of 293 to 125, with St Albans' Daisy Cooper (Lib Dem) our only MP to vote in favour.

The Comet: St Albans MP Daisy Cooper.St Albans MP Daisy Cooper. (Image: HM Government)

Welwyn Hatfield's Conservative MP Grant Shapps was among those who voted against the amendment, later posting on X that he believed the a ceasefire would "give Hamas the green light to commit further terrorist atrocities".

"Israel must target Hamas proportionally and within international humanitarian law to protect civilians, de-escalate tensions in the West Bank and go ahead with meaningful humanitarian pauses to ensure aid is distributed. But Israel has the right to defend itself against terrorism," he added.

Hertsmere MP and deputy Prime Minister Oliver Dowden also voted against the ceasefire amendment, and he has previously shown is support for Israel.

READ MORE: Brothers jailed for dumping enough waste to 'fill three Albert Halls'

The Comet: Welwyn Hatfield MP Grant Shapps.Welwyn Hatfield MP Grant Shapps.

"I do believe this is a just war Israel is seeking to prosecute against cold blooded terrorists who have murdered its citizens," he told BBC Radio 4’s Today programme.

"We would do the same thing in this country if it happened to us. Israel has set out two clear aims for this conflict which the United Kingdom agrees with – which is to eliminate the Hamas threat and to release those hostages."

288 Conservative MPs voted against the amendment, with Hitchin and Harpenden's Bim Afolami, Stevenage's Stephen McPartland, and North East Hertfordshire's Sir Oliver Heald among them.

The Comet: Stephen McPartland, Sir Oliver Heald and Bim Afolami.Stephen McPartland, Sir Oliver Heald and Bim Afolami. (Image: Gov.uk)

The vote has caused divisions within the Labour party, with 10 frontbenchers, including eight shadow minsters, quitting over the vote.

56 Labour MPs voted against Sir Keir Starmer, who has been calling for longer pauses in the conflict to deliver humanitarian aid.

Alistair Strathern, who is one of the party's newest MP after an historic win in the Mid Bedfordshire by-election last month, did not vote.

The Comet: Alistair Strathern with Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer after winning the Mid Bedfordshire by-election.Alistair Strathern with Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer after winning the Mid Bedfordshire by-election. (Image: PA Images/PA Wire)