Rishi Sunak's plan to save the Rwanda deportation scheme was voted through by the House of Commons yesterday (Wednesday, January 17).

The Safety of Rwanda Bill, which still requires approval from the House of Lords, would make it clear that Rwanda is considered to be a safe country in UK law.

The government wants to send some asylum seekers to Rwanda for their claims to be processed, as part of its plan to deter people from crossing the Channel in small boats. However, the Supreme Court ruled in November that the plan was unlawful as Rwanda is not considered a safe country.

Right-wingers in the Conservative party were unsuccessful in attempting to amend the Safety of Rwanda bill, and it passed the Commons with 320 votes for and 276 against - a majority of 44.

Only 11 Conservative MPs voted against the bill, including Suella Braverman, the former Home Secretary.

Here’s how MPs in Hertfordshire voted:

Bim Afolami, Hitchin and Harpenden (CON): Yes

Daisy Cooper, St Albans (LD): No

Oliver Dowden, Hertsmere (CON): Yes

Sir Oliver Heald, North East Hertfordshire (CON): Yes

Stephen McPartland, Stevenage (CON): Yes

Julie Marson, Hertford and Stortford (CON): Yes

Gagan Mohindra, South West Hertfordshire (CON): Yes

Sir Mike Penning, Hemel Hempstead (CON): Yes

Dean Russell, Watford (CON): Yes

Grant Shapps, Welwyn Hatfield (CON): Yes

Sir Charles Walker, Broxbourne (CON): Yes